Eliot-Weinberger-USAEliot Weinberger was born in 1949 in New York City where he still lives. His books of literary writings include Works on Paper, Outside Stories, Written Reaction, Karmic Trace and The Stars. His political articles are collected in 9/12, What I Heard About Iraq, and What Happened Here: Bush Chronicles. His work regularly appears in translation and has been published in some thirty languages. Weinberger's essays represent an important dissenting voice of critical insight into American politics. His stinging appraisal of the US invasion of Iraq will be presented on opening night of Time of the Writer, three years to the day of that fateful incursion. 

He is the editor of the anthologies American Poetry Since 1950: Innovators & Outsiders and the forthcoming World Beat: International Poetry Now from New Directions. Weinberger is a leading translator of Latin American poetry and his first published book, at the age of 19, was a translation of poetry by the Nobel Prize winner Octavio Paz. Since 1970 Weinberger has translated texts of numerous authors from Spanish (including Paz, Jorge Luis Borges, and Vicente Huidobro), and his edition of Borges” Selected Non-Fictions received the National Book Critics Circle prize for criticism in 2000. He has also edited anthologies of classical Chinese poetry, and translated work of poets such as Bei Dao

In 1992, Eliot Weinberger was the first recipient of the PEN/Kolovakos Award for his promotion of Hispanic literature in the US; in 2000, he became the only American literary writer to be awarded the Order of the Aztec Eagle by the government of Mexico. He is a curator of the Berlin International Literature Festival and is prominently featured in the Visitor's Key to Iceland. Presented as a “post-national writer” at the 2005 PEN World Voices Festival, Weinberger's expertise in Latin-American, Chinese, and other languages have contributed to the cross-cultural perspectives evident in his work. 

Weinberger's knowledgeable essays which encompass wide subject material such as MTV and Icelandic sagas, saints and poets, precolonial India and the civil war in Rwanda, as well as politics, are structured around one basic criterion : “I never make things up” he says. Innovatively exploring the potential of the essay genre, many of his texts, while strictly non-fiction, are closer to prose poetry or narrative than traditional essays. “His work” writes the Times Literary Supplement, “makes you sit up in your seat.”

Bibliography - Author

Works on Paper (1986)

19 Ways of Looking at Wang Wei (1987)

Outside Stories (1992)

Written Reaction (1996)

Karmic Traces (2000)

9/12 (2003)

What I Heard About Iraq (2005)

What Happened Here: Bush Chronicles (2005)

The Stars (2005)


Una antología de la poesía norteamericana desde 1950 (1992)

American Poetry Since 1950: Innovators & Outsiders (1993)

The New Directions Anthology of Classical Chinese Poetry (2003)

World Beat: International Poetry Now from New Directions (2006)


Octavio Paz, Eagle or Sun? (1970; 1976)

Octavio Paz, A Draft of Shadows (1980)

Homero Aridjis, Exaltation of Light (1981)

Octavio Paz, Selected Poems (1984)

Jorge Luis Borges, Seven Nights (1984)

Octavio Paz, Collected Poems 1957-1987 (1987)

Vicente Huidobro, Altazor (1988; 2003)

Octavio Paz, A Tree Within (1988)

Octavio Paz, Sunstone (1991)

Cecilia Vicuña, Unravelling Words and the Weaving of Water (1992)

Xavier Villaurrutia, Nostalgia for Death (1992)

Octavio Paz, In Light of India (1997)

Octavio Paz, A Tale of Two Gardens (1997)

Octavio Paz, An Erotic Beyond: Sade (1998)

Jorge Luis Borges, Selected Non-Fictions (1999)

Bei Dao, Unlock (2000)

Octavio Paz, Figures & Figurations (2002)